The History of AB Wanderers CC
Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers Cricket Club was formed in 2011 with the merger of Norwich & Coltishall Wanderers CC and Ashmanhaugh CC.
Although the name ‘Wanderers’ had been used before, its’ unbroken use starts with the formation of Norwich Wanderers CC in 1913. As the name suggests they did not have their own ground but ‘borrowed’ pitches from other clubs. As time passed membership grew and in 1929 they were able to field a second team but a big change occurred in 1948 when they leased the ground at Barton Turf.
In 2004 membership was dropping and the club merged with Coltishall & Hellesdon CC bringing with them the numbers to form a third team using the ground at Coltishall.
Having separated from Coltishall in 2015 the club presently boasts two grounds both in the picturesque Norfolk villages of Barton Turf and Ashmanhaugh.