The History of Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers Cricket Club
Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers Cricket Club was formed in 2011 with the merger of Norwich & Coltishall Wanderers CC and Ashmanhaugh CC.
Although the name ‘Wanderers’ had been used before, its’ unbroken use starts with the formation of Norwich Wanderers CC in 1913. As the name suggests they did not have their own ground but ‘borrowed’ pitches from other clubs. As time passed membership grew and in 1929 they were able to field a second team but a big change occurred in 1948 when they leased the ground at Barton Turf.
In 2004 membership was dropping and the club merged with Coltishall & Hellesdon CC bringing with them the numbers to form a third team using the ground at Coltishall.
In 2011 a new club was born out of a merger with nearest neighbours Ashmanhaugh CC. This resulted in a complete shake up and a new club being formed, Ashmanhaugh & Barton Wanderers . As a result the club can boast two beautiful grounds, a licenced bar, 2 Saturday league teams and, as of 2020, 2 Sunday league teams as well as junior teams in every age group
Having separated from Coltishall in 2015 the club remains strong and membership has expanded year on year; the future for this village club on the Norfolk Broads looks very bright.